DuncanM

225/45/17 tyres?

Hello, 

I thought this would be an obvious modification but haven't seen much talk about it? 

It certainly open up the tyre options, and I don't think 225 is too wide.

Love to hear from people on here, only had the car since Sunday so won't be doing much to it yet, however it does have Prestivo tyres all round, which I have no knowledge of. 

Screenshot_20200924_083416_com.android.chrome.jpg

pros of 225/45/17 - it's more common sizing, and in several cases due that tire set might be cheaper then of our stock sizing of 215/45/17.

slight con - while it's still safe to run 225 tires on our stock 17x7 wheels, there will be no risk of tire debeading from wheel, some extra sidewall sloppiness will increase. Some people preferring sharper steering feel usually tend to go to narrower side from tire width range safe for wheel width, via slight stretch.

No comments on Prestivo tires, never heard about them. My own preference is to get from top tires in class i wish to get them of. In my eyes tires & brakes are most important bits on every car, and not worth compromising/saving on.

9 minutes ago, Church said:

pros of 225/45/17 - it's more common sizing, and in several cases due that tire set might be cheaper then of our stock sizing of 215/45/17.

slight con - while it's still safe to run 225 tires on our stock 17x7 wheels, there will be no risk of tire debeading from wheel, some extra sidewall sloppiness will increase. Some people preferring sharper steering feel usually tend to go to narrower side from tire width range safe for wheel width, via slight stretch.

No comments on Prestivo tires, never heard about them. My own preference is to get from top tires in class i wish to get them of. In my eyes tires & brakes are most important bits on every car, and not worth compromising/saving on.