Bumper reinforcement assembly

Evening all, me again...

I'm looking at building a new bumper reinforcement bracket assembly, a bit like the beatrush example, but stronger.

I have a couple of questions which are puzzling me.. I know my warranty will be voided, but thats not an issue. I am concerned about the insurance implications though. I wonder how i would describe the mod? Would anyone want to insure me?

Also, with the plan of fitting a SC or Turbo some time down the line, i wonder about the routing of the intercooler pipework?

One thing's for sure, i'll have a bigger gaping hole to fill with a large intercooler!! Any thoughts anyone?

Is your car going to be keep as a road car, or purely out and out track car?  The design of the modern car structure is very complicated (I know, I used to be a body development engineer for Toyota) - removing the standard front (or rear) bumper beam will have an adverse effect to the structural, and impact crumple performance of the car.  I do not believe any insurance company will cover it, unless you can prove that the impact performance has not been affected.

As far as warranty is concerned - read the wording of the warranty cover.  It covers you against latent defects, or premature failure.  Not sure what aspect of the warranty cover would be affected by removing the bumper bar (apart from if you had to make a claim for structural failure of the car).

Thanks for your comments guys. I really appreciate what you are saying, and agree with all points raised.