Sign in to follow this  
GT86-Ian

Supercharger or Turbo

Now I'm no expert, don't have a clue what makes a car run, but I do love my sports cars:32 (1):Superchargerok on Saturday I was lucky enough to get a drive in Marks supercharged GT86, now I've never driven any form of forced induction car before & was quite surprised how well the supercharger worked, before hand I had been worried about the noise from the charger & anyone who knows me I don't like noise :32 (33):Luckily the sound from the charger is very minimal it only comes into play when your really pushing it.Driving the car applying the gas you can really tell when the power comes in, quite a bit more power & the car really did go well, the only negative was coming off & going back on the power you got a bit of lag, but maybe that's something Mark can sort out in time.TBH I could of done with a longer drive & traffic didn't help but it was a good drive.PS the cobra exhaust on the car sounded fantastic.A few others got to drive Marks car so please chip in with your thoughts :)TurboDave (Pitman) was very kind enough to let me test his turbo car today @ Fensport.The AVO Turbo has been out for quite some time now, I've been following its progression on the ft86 club forum, quite a few members have gone for this setup without any issues (not saying there are any issues with the charger).Plus points for me are the fitment, turbo low down in the engine bay & OEM look once the install is complete, to me this looks much better than the supercharger...Driving Dave's turbo, first thing I noticed what how stiff the new helix organic clutch was but after a few minutes you don't notice it at all, Now when anyone mentions turbo I always read about lag, but with Dave's car I didn't notice any, power comes in from about 3k & just keeps going & going, you put your foot down & the car fly's, with the supercharger you can tell more when the powers coming online, with the turbo its just smoother & natural progression all the