86alex

Tein Streetflex - installation and spring rate question

Hi, I've just purchased some tein streetflex. They are second hand, but they look pretty much brand new.

Does anyone have any recommendations on places to fit them around Yorkshire way?

Also, current spring rates are 7/7. I see other folks are changing these. Any negatives to staying with 7/7?

I must confess that I'm a bit of a noob to all this, so any tips appreciated. I don't fancy installing them and then having to change the set up.

Ultimately, I want to upgrade to EDFC in the future, as I intend to keep doing track days, and the adjustability looks spot on.

Alex

People are only changing them as they believe 7/7 might be too stiff for them but you ultimately need to test it out and see yourself if you think they're too stiff or not. I'm running 9/7 on my HSD's and I'd definitely say they're stiff but not unbariable for me coming from a Clio Cup. The only real downside that I'm worried about is if the suspension is too stiff, the car might become a bit skittish when travelling over rough surfaces and you don't want that when cornering hard. I've yet to experience this but I've yet to truly push the car around a track since I've had them fitted. I may consider getting softer springs at some point but that will mean taking them off swapping the springs out which ultimately means losing my current setup so they'd need a full geo alignment and adjustment again so not in a rush to do that, plus I might need them re-valving which probably won't be cheap so will see.

I'm a complete noob with the mechanical side of cars but I managed to swap the rears out by myself but it did take a couple of hours, the fronts I failed on purely because I couldn't undo the drop link bolts which had seized on and because it was getting late, gave up as I didn't have anything to help get them of with like penetrating fluid and wire brush etc.