Minion

Audio install for a noob

I’m contemplating doing some sort of audio install but the problem is I don’t know the first thing about anything to do with car audio. Do you guys have any tips and tricks for upgrading the stock audio system that comes with the car?

Can you use a sub with the stock head unit or do you need to get an aftermarket one?

I have seen the sub box’s that you can get so they fit perfectly in the corner of the boot. Do you recommend getting one of these and if so where is best to get one from?

Sorry about all the questions and thanks for the help!

Thanks

Jake :D

Hi Jake,

I'm by no means an expert, however I have played around with the audio in this particular car.

In my honest opinion, the easiest and cheapest way to improve the sound quality is with a good set of front door speakers and some sound proofing behind the door cards. Made a world of difference in my car. I paid a little more than some people would be willing to pay (£170ish) for Focal speakers, but as they're plug & play, and come with plug & play tweeters also, I figured they were decent value. Made a big difference to sound quality though.

As for a sub, I believe you would have to buy some adaptors for the standard head unit and splice into the existing harness. The easier way would be to wire in an active sub (a sub with an amp attached), or a separate amp/sub combo, and use an RCA converter to run the sub off the front/rear speakers (as there are no pre-outs on the standard head unit).

Of course, you can get around a load of problems by simply changing the head unit. Just changing the head unit itself will almost certainly improve sound quality by itself, and will then provide you with all the pre-outs you need for sub, amp etc.

The sub you've seen is likely the OEM+ audio system. I know @rob275 has it for one example, and I'm sure there are a few others. This system will run you around £600 I believe (over $1,000, exclusing delivery and any customs charges).