Sam

New wheels questions

Hey guys,

I am looking at getting some new wheels, and as I am new to modifying thought I would come to you to hopefully point me in the right direction!  (This would be the first mod I'm doing to change the characteristics of the drive - so want to be sure I'm not ruining it!)

After much consideration I've settled on JR3 17x8 ET35.

I just want to make sure I am making the right choice before going for it.

1) I hear you need to take the TPMS sensors from the old wheels (or get new ones - but I hear that is an extra hassle, so would prefer moving the old ones) and put them into the new wheels - I assume whoever would fit the tyres would be able to do this?

2) With going to 8 width I am thinking of going to 225 tyres, what would be a good recommendation considering I'm absolutely not interested in grippier tyres, I like the way the primacy tyres handle in the wet, and obviously I would like cheap ones. Can anyone recommend where would be a good place to get them from?

3) Does anyone know the weight of these wheels or JR wheels in general? I have seen that they're supposed to be a bit lighter than stock but that was some random forum post, so would like confirmation on this random post as well 😛

Thanks in advance for helping this scrub find his way! If you have any info on things I might not have considered this would also be appreciated.

Pride and joy attached since I haven't actually posted a pic yet

86.jpg

The garage I bought my wheels from were going to swap the sensors over without asking, so I stopped them and they fitted OEM and matched the RF frequency.

Now I can pop the old set back on (haven't had a need to yet) all by myself. Had no issues with the OEM RF sensors, had the wheels for almost two years.

...except when I park too close to the old wheels and the car picks up both sets and gets confused, as soon as I drive away, all OK.