andrewbaru

Adding a reverse camera WITHOUT drilling the boot handle and WITHOUT cutting any OEM wires

Bear with me on this I've been asked about how my experience with fitting a reverse camera through the cap garnish went

First things first, standard disclaimer, I'm not a qualified mechanic/automotive engineer/automotive electrician, you do this at your own risk and I take no responsibility for you damaging the car, or yourself, or blowing the moon up somehow, or anything bad happens at all in any way shape or form.... this is purely a rough guide carried out on a 2017+ UK spec brz, so please double, triple, quadruple check everything I've said by doing your own research on your own car.

In short, it's pretty easy to do, but I found there are quite a few little odds and ends of knowledge that you just won't know when you start out. So I'm gonna try and mind dump it all here, but this post might take a while and be a bit all over the place and scantily filled in until I can write it all out and put it into sentences that make sense 😄

Things to know before you start, and how to find out: Does you car have an easily accessible reverse signal? Does you car have a cap garnish or do you have a lock?

•  reverse signal should be on the oem head unit block this may be a 20 or 28pin connector (FWIW, mine's 28pin)
  •  if you have a boot lock, you won't have a cap garnish, but you "could" delock you car and add a cap garnish (I don't know exactly how to do that, sorry). If you don't have a lock, you probably will have a cap garnish, open the boot and look on the right side of the under side of the boot handle, do you see a small hole with a black piece of plastic filling it in? That is the bottom of the cap garnish.