lukester

Monitoring VVT / VVT not working

Hi

I've been suffering from VVT issues I think. Last time it was at Fensport, Adrian said he'd seen it not "engage" (might have the wrong word) a couple of times. Recently it's just had no get up and go at all, a bit like its driver (but I'm a lot older than it is).

Anyway, following on from the supercharger-stopped-working thread, I've given DashCommand a go (only ~£6 for the app, another ~£5 or so for the Toyota PID package - worth a shot before ~£300 for ecutek...).

I'm a complete newbie with this stuff, but graphing a complete log seems to suggest that DashCommand is working OK for VVT. But not my car :(

This was a 10 mile steady drive (happened to be after having the battery disconnected for a while, so ECU was doing some relearning?). Looks like VVT stuck for pretty much the whole trip:

599316e32118b_DataLogAug15201712_09PM.thumb.jpg.d5ed971d9323104e6cf332e601a55491.jpg

The return trip - variation to start with but gets stuck once off the cruise-control (about 15 mins in):

5993185c0c26b_DataLogAug15201701_00PM.thumb.jpg.e1d20d6ff7c91fc5809270145074d3fb.jpg

Assuming DashCommand was working properly (speed seems OK), this looks pretty bad I guess?

Thanks for any help!

Cheers

Luke.

Interestingly there's a bit of jitter when you turn the engine off, I wonder if it's oil pressure related? You should log that too!

If the VVT sensor readings are correct, then the valve timings are static after the initial wiggle. That starves the airflow under high power, and may reduce effectiveness at low rpm too, depending on what position it's sticking in. It's basically downgrading your engine to the 1980s. 

The "relearning" part will be fuelling adjustments for efficiency and shouldn't have any impact on the VVT.