lewism1

Best wheel option?

Hi all,

Looking to get a set of black alloys for the 86. Currently running stock suspension and will most likely stay like that as I live in the bumpy fens....

Wondered if people have any recommendations? I'm new to changing wheels on car, so don't really know what brands to avoid etc? 

"Best" is subjective thing. Define more specific what do you wish to gain.

Lighter weight? Different diameter/width/offset? Specific looks? Of specific strength? For what intended use? What is available budget?

With no input on those, if money is no object, i'd say to get TWS T66-F of wished size.

Rim choice 101 it is then!

• Bigger diameter and/or width is heavier
    • Heavier unsprung weight reduces the agility of the car and suspension capability over bumps
    • Wider tyres give you a little more grip, but usually make it more expensive. See also offset below
    • For best comfort stick to 17" rims. For style, consider 18"
  • Wrong offset is big trouble
    • Too far inset and your new wheels don't clear the brakes
    • Too much poke and your tyres can rub on the arches in corners and over bumps, or fail MOT if they extend beyond the arches.
    • Standard OEM fit is 7Jx17 ET48, 5x100 -> Example willtheyfit.com
  • OEM wheels are fairly light
    • You can't just go to Halfords and pick up some steel rims without consequences
    • RAYS, OZ etc. make lighter wheels still. For reference, the GT86 Aero came with OZ 18" superleggeras or something like that
    • Forged wheels are stronger, but very expensive
  • Don't buy end-of-run rims, in case you bust one and can't replace it
  • Buying fitted new tyres with the rims can save some money - useful if you change tyre size and you like the tyre brand offered
  • Watch out for import taxes if your wheel of choice is from overseas
  • Staggered wheel sizes are not generally a good idea unless you know what you're doing